Āmítuófó Is The Dharma From The Fruit Of Buddhahood 阿弥陀佛即佛果之法

[解]: 故一声阿弥陀佛,即释迦本师于五浊恶世,所得之阿耨多罗三藐三菩提法。

[Explanation]: Thus, [this] one recitation [of] Āmítuófó (阿弥陀佛), is the same as that [which our] fundamental teacher Śākyamuni [Buddha] attained during [this] Evil Period [of the] Five Defilements – of Anuttarā Samyak Saṃbodhi’s Dharma.


Now with this fruit [of] awakening, entirely conferred [to] defiled [and] evil sentient beings, [it is] thus that [of] all Buddhas’ practised [and realised] state, [that] only Buddhas with Buddhas [are] able [to] understand completely, not [with the] Nine [Dharma] Realms’ [beings’ limited] Self-power that [is] able [to] believe [and] understand [fully].


All sentient beings, separately point [to] evil persons [with the] Five Defilements.


All in [the] world, commonly points [to the] Four Lands’ material worlds [(with sentient beings), of the Land Of The Noble And Ordinary Dwelling Together (凡圣同居土), Land Of Expedience With Remainder (方便有余土), Land Of True Reward’s Adornment (实报庄严土) and Land Of Eternally Still Light (常寂光土), and the] Nine Realms’ sentient worlds [of (non-Buddhas, who are) hell-beings, hungry ghosts, animals, humans, asuras, gods, Arhats, Pratyekabuddhas and Bodhisattvas]. [See Note on Four Lands]


D2: Founding Teacher’s Conclusive Praise

[解]: 前劝信流通是诸佛付嘱(zhǔ),此本师付嘱。

[Explanation]: Before, [the] encouragement [of] Faith’s transmission was all Buddhas’ entrustment, [and] here [is our] fundamental teacher’s entrustment.


[The] words [of] exhortation omitted [the] separate to join [all] commonly, only saying, ‘all [in this] world’. [This is] like before, when all Buddhas said, ‘You [and] other sentient beings’. [It] should [be] known [that] Mañjuśrī [Bodhisattva, Mahā]kāśyapa [the Arhat, and] others, [are] all who [were] exhorted.

– 净土宗九祖藕益大师

– Pure Land Tradition’s 9th Patriarch Great Master Ǒuyì
(Essential Explanation [Of The] Sūtra [In Which The] Buddha Speaks [Of] Amitā[bha] Buddha)


四土 | Four Lands:

All Four Lands can be separate in various defiled lands and Pure Lands. However, a set of them are interconnected for interaction with various beings in Āmítuófó’s Pure Land, though how fully they are experienced by each being is according to one’s spiritual state. (As Pure Land ‘radiates’ from the ‘centre’, to spiritually advance towards it is to advance towards Buddhahood.)

[i] 凡圣同居土
Land Of The Noble And Ordinary Dwelling Together (for ordinary beings)

This Sahā World, although a defiled land, also can have a Buddha, Bodhisattvas, Arhats and ordinary beings dwelling together. However, as they have different spiritual attainments, how they experience it differs greatly. Āmítuófó’s Pure Land has this function too. Unenlightened beings who carry their negative karma to be reborn there are all born here, where they can also meet and dwell with the Buddha, Bodhisattvas and Arhats, in a common but pure environment.

[ii] 方便有余土
Land Of Expedience With Remainder (for Arhats)

As experienced by Arhats, having severed confused views and thoughts (断见思), but yet to break ignorance (破无明) completely.

[iii] 实报庄严土
Land Of True Reward’s Adornment (for Bodhisattvas)

As experienced by enlightened Bodhisattvas, including those of highest three grades of birth, who will swiftly realise Non-Birth, and enter the next land.

[iv] 常寂光土
Land Of Eternally Still Light (for Buddhas)

As experienced by Buddhas, with Buddha-Nature (佛性); Original Nature (本性); Principle-Nature (理性); or True Thusness (真如) realised, as the cause of full awakening.]

Related Explanation:

How To Transform The Five Defilements To Five Purities With Nianfo?
(The above explanation fits between Parts 1 and 2 in this link)

Namo Amituofo : Translation and note by Shen Shi’an

Please be mindful of your speech, Amituofo!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Alert: Content is protected !!